How Orpheum helps

The Orpheum Foundation offers selected young soloists a top-quality performance opportunity with a major orchestra and experienced conductors in the Zurich Tonhalle. Sponsors, agents, event organisers and the media are invited to this concert. The soloists are provided with a live recording of their concert, plus a video portrait with excerpts from the concert and interviews. Above and beyond this, the Orpheum Foundation may support chosen soloists for at least two years with individual promotional measures. These include invitations to give further concerts or providing contacts, especially to event organisers, agencies and labels.

In addition to this, the Orpheum Foundation may offer selected young soloists a top-class performance opportunity with a major pianist or a CD recording with an international profile

Requirement profile

The Orpheum Foundation is committed to the advancement of international young soloists. Its focus is on persons who are between 18 and 26 years old. Besides exceptional musical abilities, they must already possess the potential to become an outstanding artistic personality, must have a representative repertoire (in particular including the standard works of the Classical, Romantic and Classical Modern periods) and have experience in working with orchestras and in giving solo performances.

Orpheum is not a competition and is open to applicants from all over the world, without any restrictions on language, nationality or background.

Application procedure

The Orpheum Foundation accepts two types of application:

  1. Young soloists are proposed by members of the Artistic Board of Trustees.
  2. Young soloists apply online, directly or through their agent. For an online application, the following documents must be provided:
    • Personal details
    • Biography
    • Photo
    • Repertoire list
    • List of current concerts
    • Audio recordings/live concert recordings (upload, links; not older than 1 year)

Applications may be submitted in German, French or English.

The application deadline is in each case 30 March of the year before the Foundation’s support is desired. The online form will lead you step-by-step through all the necessary stages of the application.

Selection process

The definitive selection of soloists is made by the Artistic Director of the Orpheum Foundation, Howard Griffiths. Together with the Managing Director, Thomas Pfiffner, he ensures that, in collaboration with the orchestras and conductors invited, those soloists are chosen who can profit the most from the support of the Orpheum Foundation.

Die Förderung

Die Orpheum Stiftung bietet ausgewählten jungen Solistinnen und Solisten einen hochkarätigen Auftritt mit einem bedeutenden Orchester und erfahrenen Dirigenten in der Tonhalle Zürich. Zu diesem Konzert werden Sponsoren, Agenturen, Veranstalter und die Medien eingeladen. Die Verwendung der Live-Aufnahme des Konzertes sowie ein Videoportrait mit Konzert- und Interviewausschnitten werden den Solistinnen und Solisten zur Verfügung gestellt. Darüber hinaus kann die Orpheum Stiftung die ausgewählten Solistinnen und Solisten während mindestens zwei Jahren mit individuellen Förderungsmassnahmen betreuen. Dazu gehören Einladungen zu weiteren Konzerten oder die Vermittlung von Kontakten insbesondere zu Veranstaltern, Agenturen und Labels.

Alternativ und ergänzend bietet die Orpheum Stiftung ausgewählten jungen Solistinnen und Solisten einen hochkarätigen Auftritt mit einem bedeutenden Pianisten oder im Rahmen einer CD-Produktion eine Aufnahme mit internationaler Ausstrahlung.

Anforderungsprofil

Die Orpheum Stiftung engagiert sich für den internationalen Solistennachwuchs. Im Fokus stehen Persönlichkeiten, die zwischen 18 und 26 Jahre alt sind. Vorausgesetzt werden neben herausragenden fachlichen Qualitäten die Anlagen zu einer aussergewöhnlichen Künstlerpersönlichkeit, ein repräsentatives Repertoire (insbesondere mit Standardwerken der Klassik, Romantik und der klassischen Moderne) sowie Erfahrungen in der Zusammenarbeit mit Orchestern und im solistischen Auftreten.

Orpheum ist kein Wettbewerb und offen für Bewerberinnen und Bewerber aus der ganzen Welt ohne Einschränkung bezüglich Sprache, Nationalität und Herkunft.

Bewerbungsverfahren

Die Orpheum Stiftung kennt zwei Bewerbungsarten:

  1. Junge Solistinnen und Solisten werden durch Mitglieder des Künstlerischen Kuratoriums vorgeschlagen.
  2. Junge Solistinnen und Solisten bewerben sich direkt oder via deren Agentur online. Für die Online-Bewerbung sind folgende Unterlagen erforderlich:
    • Persönliche Angaben
    • Biografie
    • Foto
    • Repertoire-Liste
    • Liste aktueller Konzerte
    • Audioaufnahmen/Konzertmitschnitte (Upload, Links; nicht älter als 1 Jahr)

Bewerbungen können in Deutsch, Französisch oder Englisch eingereicht werden.

Das Onlineformular führt schrittweise durch alle notwendigen Rubriken der Bewerbung.

Auswahlverfahren

Die definitive Auswahl der Solisten obliegt dem künstlerischen Leiter der Orpheum Stiftung, Howard Griffiths. Gemeinsam mit dem Geschäftsleiter Thomas Pfiffner stellt er sicher, dass unter Einbezug der eingeladenen Orchester und Dirigenten jene Solistinnen und Solisten berücksichtigt werden, die optimal von der Orpheum Förderung profitieren können.